Graffiti stencils of celebrities

The Icons

In the time I have been collecting pictures of graffiti, I now have a few “celebrity” images.

Here are a few recognizable pop-culture icons.

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

I’ve watched the show since it first aired. I remember watchingTMNT on Saturday mornings along with The Little Mermaid.

I believe this is Raphael.

Raphael of the TMNT

Next up – another 1990s icon is Steve Urkel of Family Matters.

Steven ‘Steven’ Quincy Urkel was played by Jaleel White.

Urkel’s nerdy character was hard not to laugh at. I remember being terribly sad when the show ended as Family Matters was my favorite TGIF show.

Although this cult icon isn’t from the 1990s (the 1970s actually) it’s an obviously allusion to A Clockwork Orange.

I haven’t read the book or seen the movie, but I’m sure some fans will understand the significance of this image.

This image of Andre the Giant is sometimes stenciled by graffiti artist Shepard Fairey.

I’ve made numerous post about Fairey and the image he created of President Barack Obama. But this is the only Obey image I have managed to shoot at this point in time.

The Unknown

There are a few other stenciled graffiti images I have collected, yet I’m not sure what they are referencing – if any cultural icon at all. Perhaps the artist, or atists, are simply alluding to the culture of man-kind. None-the-less, here they are. Please leave a comment and share what or who the art is referencing.

t

1 Comment

Filed under Culture

One response to “Graffiti stencils of celebrities

  1. severnyproductions

    I like the ninga turtle the image is easily recognisable

Leave a Reply

