The future of this blog

I’ve been meaning to write this entry for a long time.

This blog originally started as part of a class. I meant to start a blog sooner, but Steve Fox’s multimedia journalism class at UMass pushed me to actually do it. It’s something journalists “have got to do.”

There were some major ups and downs, or rather, trouble narrowing down a topic. Blogs are supposed to be themed and are not supposed to be about saving the entire world in one sitting. The world – that’s something I couldn’t help. The world interests me too much to settle on one narrow, tiny topic.

I originally posted entries about people and unique things that often get looked over, like the performer under Angel Tunnel. Then I moved on to entries about documentary filmmaking because that’s what interests me and is something I always want to learn about.

Every so often Fox would give us reporting assignments, and those were posted. It was fun covering Sheila Bair’s lecture and talking to people about the possible loss of the Boston Globe.

Now that class is over, I can’t say I’m eager to delete this blog. I like having it. It’s fun to keep. I enjoy sharing my videos and documentary work and will continue to do so.

As for the next few months, I’ll be interning at WGBH Boston, teaching Final Cut editing workshops, and shooting my second documentary.

Stay tuned.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The future of this blog

  1. Glad to see you’re keeping the blog! You have a great eye for finding the unusual in the everyday.

    -Jackie

Leave a Reply

